European Tree of the Year 2021


We are searching for trees with the most interesting stories

Voting will be open in February.


For eleven years we have been searching for trees with the most interesting stories.

As of February 1st, you will be able to decide which arboreal gem will earn the title European Tree of the Year in 2021.

Finalists of the European Tree of the Year 2021


National contest winners

The Four-Trunked Survivor
Apple tree near Lidmans
Czech Republic
The Pouplie
The Eldest Resident of Medulin - Chocolate Tree of our Memories
Republic of Croatia
The thousand-year-old plane tree of Curinga
The Judas Tree on the Church Hill of Mélykút
The ancient Mother Tree
The Netherlands
Saint Jan Nepomucen’s Linden
Plane Tree of Rossio
Ancient Sycamore Tree
Russian Federation
Ancient Oak from Drnava
The Millennial Carrasca of Lecina
The Survivor Tree
United Kingdom

Rules of voting


Voting period: 1st February (00:00 CET) - 28th February (23:59 CET) 2021.

A person can only vote once using their personal e-mail address.

The voter always selects two candidates for the European Tree of the Year and confirms the vote.

Votes sent from disposable e-mail addresses are not allowed and will be cancelled.

Environmental Partnership Association  reserves the privilege to check if an e-mail address is used in line with the rules of the competition and if it is not, to delete such a vote.

In case the server gets overloaded with fraudulent votes, Nadace Partnerství, the organizer of the contest, reserves the privilege to stop the votes.

Personal data (e-mail addresses) are only used to identify voters and will not be used for other purposes or disclose to third parties unless you have chosen to receive the newsletter.

Environmental Partnership Association, the organizer of the contest, reserves the right to stop voting or change the rules of voting.

Every year, the European Tree of the Year voting brings

200 thousand people more aware of nature
attention and care for 16 trees
16 local communities united by one cause
16 countries proud of their natural heritage
The contest is organised by
National contest organisers